Getting Started
Everything you need to know before connecting your first device.

Connect

All devices under Connect supervision are divided into projects and groups.

Project

Under each Connect account, there is an option to create multiple projects.
Each project is an entirely separate environment that allows you to differentiate between devices that belong to a different product or use case.
A good example would be a Production environment and a Staging environment, where you will be able to provide different access permissions to each of them.
Each project has its own settings. You can modify those settings at the Settings category under the Project tab.
Device communication cycle - This number represents the number of seconds between each keepalive message that is sent by the devices to Connect servers. Please note, all actions that are related to the device and done through the dashboard, like the Remote Control and other Control Center tools are influenced by the Device communication cycle.
In order to register a device into a project, refer to register a device.

Device groups

You can create groups and arrange your devices inside them. Groups can be created in a hierarchy, meaning you can create a group under another group.
You can create new groups at the Devices category, on the top right side of the devices table there is a button named Create Group. To modify existing and delete groups go to the Settings category under the Project tab.
The default group when registering a new device is the Production group. All new devices will be automatically assigned to that group. Please note that when running the registration command, you can set the desired group using a flag.
There are 2 options for setting a device to be under a specific group. First, manually, under the Devices category, click on the relevant device and then on Edit details. You will see an option to choose the new device group. The second option is to use our REST API.